Satin slippers

I’ve always chosen satin flats since I’ve started dancing. Actually, when I went to (a very few) ballet classes as a little girl my mum put me in gorgeous little satin slippers and not the creaky leather ones everyone else in my class wore. Divaahh…

At the moment I have Bloch’s split-sole satin shoes. They’re actually due for replacement very soon – the ball of my big toe is rubbing through on both sides. I KNOW canvas lasts longer! I know you can pop your canvas shoes in the wash! I may even try on some canvas ones in the shop! But I know I’ll buy some little satin beauties.  My reasoning is that –

a) they’re cheaper

b) on my amateur class schedule they’re not going to wear out anytime soon

c) they keep their shape fine and my feet are very comfortable

d) I absolutely love the lustre of satin. I love how it feels to the touch and on the floor. I love the precise colour of Bloch’s pale salmon-y nude-y pink.

Maybe I’m buying into the mystique of the satin-and-tulle ballerina -but satin slippers just look SO GOOD. Why does nobody wear them?

 

3 thoughts on “Satin slippers

  1. Pingback: A Canvas Conversion; and on Being the New Girl Again. | Entrechat.

  2. Oh I also love them! But yeah nobody wear them in class, so I have canvas like everyone 😉 photo pleeeeease!
    By the way I just discovered your blog and love it 🙂
    Cheers from Switzerland 😉

    • Thanks so much!
      You definitely need to rock the satin! You won’t look back!
      Ballet shoes photos and chattering coming soon 🙂

Let's have some Entrechatter!

