Keep On Keepin’ On

I’ve been really rather poorly lately, and missed out on a lot of important things, including class and the ENB Dance Writing Course. I’m so disappointed, but trying not to be too hard on myself; these things happen. I’m heading out shortly for Sunday class and beginner’s pointe and my challenge to myself is to journal it and blog it.

How do you keep positive after illness or coming back after an injury? I can’t wait to get back to class, but I’m also feeling daunted about maybe having lost flexibility or lost progress on the things I find challenging. And keeping up with pointe group!

In other news I have some very cute knitty shorties that I’ve made whilst laid up poorly – photos to come!

 

6 thoughts on “Keep On Keepin’ On

  1. It can be pretty daunting to go back to class after suffering from an injury. I’ve overstretched my hamstring once and I was also very afraid that my flexibility suffered from it. But there’s only one solution, go back to class and try to enjoy yourself. The rest will catch up in time! 🙂

  2. It can be pretty daunting to go back to class after suffering from an injury. I’ve overstretched my hamstring once and I was also very afraid that my flexibility suffered from it. But there’s only one solution, go back to class and try to enjoy yourself. The rest will catch up in time! 🙂

  3. I’m in your same boat right now, and I agree, it’s very daunting… BUT… you know it’s not going to come back to you without going back, right?
    I’m recovering from a tendon injury in the ball of my foot. Its totally fine in everyday life now, but the degree to which it needs to stretch in class makes it uncomfortable and my dancing less than stellar, and sans pointe shoes… but… Hey, at least we can dance! Just do what you and don’t be too hard on yourself.

  4. You know, through my seven year’s of learning ballet, I had countless times of being injured and going back. I always worried so much that I would have to start from scratch after each recovery period. While the flexibility and strength did suffer, and I often found/allowed myself going back to a lower level, what I had learned before was not all lost–remembering combinations, dancing with the music, etc. while executing movements in a safer way and trying not to “overdo” it. Right now I have to wait for half a year before I allow myself to go back to the studio as I have just had a major abdominal surgery. “Hard” is an understatement! But I keep myself active by visualizing dancing and watching lots of dance videos and photos. These fuel the neurons that deal with movements in our brain and hopefully by the time I’m ready to start taking class again, my brain will help my body get a jump start. Look forward to your photos!

    • That sounds like a really challenging time you’re going through – I hope you are feeling well, even though not fully recovered yet. I agree that there is a lot in visualising, and keeping yourself “plugged in” to dance. Not keeping in touch with things you love can often make you feel down and more worried about re-engaging.

  5. Thank you all for the kind advice and sharing stories. I can report that my dancing hasn’t suffered too much, and I was even turning a good number of clean pirouettes! I am a total Zoolander though, can’t turn left. Starting from scratch on that particular issue! Trying to hold onto the feeling after class where you feel a thousand times better, even if you are still a bit poorly.

Let's have some Entrechatter!

